I’m an iPhone lover.  I’ve got to admit that right now… actually a Mac fan too. I’m always keeping up on the latest rumors about Apple products I’m interested in. Currently I’m interested in the new iPhone that we should be hearing about in the next couple of months.

I’ve checked out the Motorola Droid and the Google Nexus One. I see features in these devices that I would like to see in the next iPhone. Knowing that Steve Jobs is also keeping track of his competition, I figure he is going to have many features, of these new smart phones, in the next iPhone. You can even look at jail-broken iPhones and see features that should be in the iPhone 4G. Let’s run down some of the things that should be in the next iPhone.

Hardware

One rumored image of the iPhone 4G.

The next iPhone needs to have another hardware update… like the iPhone 3GS had over the iPhone 3G. Rumor have stated that a dual-core processor may be in the next iPhone. Note that a dual core processor could also be a CPU and GPU in one chip.  A higher resolution display like the Nexus One or Droid would be nice.  I’ve seen the Droid next to my iPhone, and that display is really crisp. Let’s throw in a 5MP camera too with LED flash. It’s possible the new iPhone could produce HD quality video with this camera chip. One lingering rumor from last year is a front facing camera for video chat. That would be nice but probably not likely. How about a removable battery or just a higher capacity battery. Got to throw in Wireless 802.11n too.

Software

Software is where Apple products have always shined. The iPhone has just lost some of it’s software shine lately. If that wasn’t true, we wouldn’t have all these jail-broken phones that allow users to multi-task, create folders, or just put a wallpaper behind all those icons.  Apple has to do something more this year with iPhone 4.0 and we should be hearing about new software features next month. iPhone OS 2.0 and 3.0 were both announced in March of 2008 and 2009 respectively.

What new features are rumored to be in the new iPhone 4.0.  Well, just as I mentioned, more customizable features are rumored to be in the OS.  We may be able to create folders to group our apps. Maybe we will be able to check to see if we have new mail, appointments, or even see what the weather is outside, from the main lock screen. How about running your Pandora or Slacker music application in the background.  I just want to put a wallpaper in the background that I can see from the lock screen and behind all my icons.

More?

There is a lot Apple can do to make the iPhone better. Hopefully they will learn from the competition, the jail-broken iPhone community, and all the current customers wants and needs. They may have more tricks up their sleeves for the new iPhone 4G… I like that name. In March we should hear about the new OS, and before June we should see what the next iPhone will look like. I’ve had my iPhone 3G for almost two years now, so I’m ready for a new 64GB iPhone 4G… yeah, more memory is probably a given.  😎

